Locomotive advice

DavidEnghauser

Locomotive advice

Post by DavidEnghauser »

As part of my 00 gauge layout I plan to incorporate a narrow gauge 009 mine layout. What locomotive is recommended? I am open to a kit, but I am a novice in building a locomotive. I have been soldering a lot of wiring so can solder it together. Also what wagons are recommended?
Thanks for your input.

David
LC&DR

Re: Locomotive advice

Post by LC&DR »

Check out Dundas Models (https://dundasmodels.co.uk/) who have an extensive range of OO9 kits and ready to run models.

Locos going underground will probably be a diesel, or a battery loco. There are ready to run diesels but a battery loco will be a kit.

Mine wagons can be either side tipping wagons or open box wagons (or a mixture of both) . There is plenty to choose from at Dundas.
LC&DR says South for Sunshine
DavidEnghauser

Post by DavidEnghauser »

Among other items Dundas recommended Roco HO9 locomotives and rolling stock. Is anyone familiar with this brand, and any comments?
yelrow

Post by yelrow »

Hi, have Roco N gauge, and 00,locos. Excellent build quality, never had any problems. Very big in Europe..
brian1951

Post by brian1951 »

Excellent Locos, Roco have merged with Fleischmann under the Modelleisenbahn Holding GMBH.
Mountain Goat

Post by Mountain Goat »

Roco, Liliput, Bachmann, Heljan and maybe others are factory made in the 009/H0e realm. Lovely little things. I went down the same route as you did... Invested quite a bit in H0e (RTR 009 was not available back then), enjoyed it but felt that they were a little too small and intricate... Tried a Smallbrook Studio 7mm narrow gauge kit just because I loved the look of the thing... Became hooked and gave away my H0e to a good friend who had supported me through tough times, and started selling my 00.
I never expected quite a change in direction, but I am loving it!

I will say though that those 009/H0e items are lovely.
Budget modelling in 0-16.5...
DavidEnghauser