Mid-Essex Newbie; Doesn't know which way is up

Just joined, say 'Hello' in here
Butch

Mid-Essex Newbie; Doesn't know which way is up

Post by Butch »

Hi folks just joined, as an intro …

I have no previous experience with model railways at all. I have just inherited the remains of my Father in Law’s N gauge kit and thought I’d make a go of it. He seemed to have a very large marshalling yard from which trains would then head off down a very linear track. I’ll be using the track and the trains and working on my own layout. So far I’ve devised the layout I want and made up a lot of the base board. I suspect I’ve already been over ambitious with the inclines. Before I get much further I’m going to tack a simple loop to it so I can test the transformer and controllers and the trains and their pulling power. My layout has quite a few sets of points planned and the likes. I’ve done some reading on wiring the layout but have yet to get my head around it. Might be easier once I’m on top of dead and live frogs.

From here I’ll head to the N gauge and other sections and start posting questions.

For background; I have previous on model aeroplanes and am working up a couple at the moment, but nothing at all special. I spend a lot of time fooling around with motorcycles, by which I mean trying to keep skanky old rubbish going.

Thanks for having me.

B
All N Gauge
Walkingthedog

Re: Mid-Essex Newbie; Doesn't know which way is up

Post by Walkingthedog »

Welcome to the forum.

Inclines need to be 1 in 30 minimum, 60 inches to climb 2 inches and that is on a straight incline. If it is curved even shallower. If you can avoid them do so.
Nurse, the screens!
bulleidboy

Post by bulleidboy »

Welcome to the forum Butch - it's a great place, with lots of help, information and fun. BB
Brian

Post by Brian »

Welcome to the forum.

If I were you, I would before trying to run anything, carry out some basic maintenance and safety inspections.