Legs for Baseboard?

All posts regarding baseboard construction
HappyWanderer

Legs for Baseboard?

Post by HappyWanderer »

Hi all,

Newbie here (well, as an adult, it's been many decades!)

I've just built a baseboard 2440mm x 1220mm using the vids on Hornby's site, but I'm wondering how best to go about putting legs onto it.

I'd like it to be desk height, and while knocking together the baseboard was relatively easy, I'm not sure that DIY-ing legs using some random timber for the builders merchants would be as straight-forward.

It is, of course, possible to buy proper table legs from DIY chains, which may be easier, but I'd appreciate any advice you guys can offer :-)

Thanks in advance.
Steve M

Re: Legs for Baseboard?

Post by Steve M »

The simplest way would be to use some framing timber (about 2 1/2” x 2”) screwed into each corner of the baseboard frame. Fit the legs with leveling screws at the base and cross brace the legs to the frame.
You may need an extra leg in the middle of each of the long sides.
"Not very stable, but incredibly versatile." ;)
bulleidboy

Post by bulleidboy »

Another simple method is to construct "pocket legs". I only have one on my layout as the legs on my boards came as part of the board kit. Using 45mm sq. timber you cut two pieces the depth of your frame, these are glued and screwed to the framework leaving a 45mm space between the two pieces - the leg, at whatever length your require, slots tightly between the two shorter pieces - put a 10mm bolt throught the frame and the leg. Picture shows leg in place - apologies for the wiring :roll:

ImageIMG_0923 by Barry Clayton, on Flickr
Last edited by bulleidboy on Thu Apr 08, 2021 12:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mountain Goat

Post by Mountain Goat »

It also depends on if the model railway is planned to be a permanent layout or a portable one.