Bachmann Cresley 2-6-2. Help.

Post here items relating to Bachmann. Including all their subsidiary makes.
Journeyman

Bachmann Cresley 2-6-2. Help.

Post by Journeyman »

Bought a Bachmann Cresley 2-6-2 V2 Class on the bay and when I opened the box one of the front bogey wheels fell out, also the two front driver wheel had come lose on their axle.
I replaced all the wheels but the connecting rods must be out of phase as some of the wheels are oscillating rather than rotating. Is there an easy way of aligning the connecting rods? And how are they phased left to right?

Cheers, Dave.
Stese

Re: Bachmann Cresley 2-6-2. Help.

Post by Stese »

i'm not an expert by any means but I think you are saying that the motionwork has lost its quartering.

essentally one side should be about a quarter turn in front or behind the other. so you might need to take all the motion off, and the rotate the driving wheels on one side.

let us know how you get on
Father, IT Guy, HO/OO Modeler.
Journeyman

Post by Journeyman »

Thanks Stese, yes what you say sounds right so the two sides should be 90 degrees apart rather than 180.
At the moment I’m working on getting the body off, it isn’t obvious how it’s held on, any tips on dismantling would be appreciated.

Cheers, Dave.
dtb

Post by dtb »

Journeyman wrote: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:21 am Thanks Stese, yes what you say sounds right so the two sides should be 90 degrees apart rather than 180.
At the moment I’m working on getting the body off, it isn’t obvious how it’s held on, any tips on dismantling would be appreciated.

Cheers, Dave.
I can only find this, not sure how helpful it will be
http://www.lendonsmodelshop.co.uk/pdf/B ... 02-6-2.pdf
Journeyman

Post by Journeyman »

Thanks dtb that is the work sheet for my engine so it’s very useful.

Cheers, Dave.
Mike Parkes

Post by Mike Parkes »