Lack of Power

HappyWanderer

Lack of Power

Post by HappyWanderer »

Hi guys,

I've just assembled the track I had when I was young, which has been in storage for the last 25 years. Apologies for the stupidity of my question, but this is my first time having to worry about this stuff - it was all done for me in the past!

I've built a simple loop and tried to connect it to power, but nothing's happening.

As per the photo below, I have two controllers. It's the one on the left that I've tried hooking up, as the one on the right doesn't seem to have any wires.

I have no idea where to start analysing the issue. Is there anything obvious from the photo? It could be that the controller's died, or maybe I've not hooked it up correctly?

I'm happy to try connecting the controller on the right instead, can anyone advise what sort of wire I would need to buy?

Thanks in advance! :)

Walkingthedog

Re: Lack of Power

Post by Walkingthedog »

Is the controller working. Does it hum slightly when attached to the power supply. If not the fuse in the plug may have blown. Try the other controller. You just need a pair of wires from Track 1 or Track 2 terminals.
Nurse, the screens!
Walkingthedog

Post by Walkingthedog »

Are the wires connected to the terminals on the track properly, looks a bit of a mess if you don’t mind me saying so.
Nurse, the screens!
HappyWanderer

Post by HappyWanderer »

Yeah the controller does hum!

The connection is as it came out of what it was boxed up in, but I have a good de/soldering machine so I'm happy to have a fiddle about and see if that makes any difference.

If I try the other controller is it just some sort of low-voltage 2 core cable I need to buy?
Walkingthedog

Post by Walkingthedog »

Yes it is only 12 volts to the track. The wire to the track may be broken. Try a new piece.
Nurse, the screens!
Brian

Post by Brian »