Metcalfe card N

Here you can review a new or older model. Be honest in the review. Please observe the forum rules when posting. Especially item 7.
AviatorAtHeart

Metcalfe card N

Post by AviatorAtHeart »

Signal box set. (Bought as present for me)

I thought I’d write a quick review on these kits.
Old hat to many but I’ve never built a card kit before this set. I did consider card, and even though I had not committed to any purchase yet, I had decided to stick with plastic as I am very familiar with plastic aviation kits.
My nephew decided I needed these, bless him.
It turns out he was absolutely correct!

The build;
Some care is needed! You can’t be as firm or forceful as you might with plastic. There are a few score lines that need encouragement to define but nothing is much of a problem to deal with. I was concerned with the staircase before I started building them, no issues that can’t be overcome by patience and thought, the smaller set was built first, they are passable, when building the larger set, I took some extra time to make sure the first and last steps were set and dried before finishing the run starting from the bottom and working up. The larger set went together easier, and looks slightly better.

The kits;
They are great! They are cheap. They go together well and look ok once complete.

I still have the painting phase to tidy up white score lines and exposed card on the exteriors.
The rooftops are still loose as are the access steps this is to make painting easier, though the lamp hut has been completely glued.
The only thing I felt necessary to add was a ridge beam? To hold the gables at the correct width.
In the small signal box I used an off cut of the green card folded into a U beam. For the larger box I used the same card and made an L beam reinforced with a cocktail stick.
This was less of an issue with the large box which I had taken good care in setting weighting panels to dry.
The smaller box was mostly a pegs/fingers and patience affair.