I'm new to everything! Will this layout work?

Dedicated area to show the community your model railway projects.
Probablynot

I'm new to everything! Will this layout work?

Post by Probablynot »

Okay, now here's the thing.
After an 82-year gap, I decided a month ago to revive my desire to play with model trains. I bought the "Flying Scotsman" set.
Sadly, the 3rd-radius curves that come with it are marginally too big to allow me to set up an oval on our dining-room table, so now I'm going to have to get serious.
Luckily I have a shed, an 8ft by 16ft workshop. About half of it is taken up with tools that remain from my previous hobby (building model ships), plus some gardening tools and a freezer, but I think I've found a way to use the other half for an 00 layout that's neither a simple loop nor a basic 'there-and-back'.

See my plan. The two narrow benches already exist. The two benches with cut-off corners still have to be made, but I've got the materials & tools for them.
I was thinking I'd just set up the long, l-shaped loop in the first instance, as drawn on my plan. That would give me about 7.5 metres of track to play with for now. But my intention would be to add two 2nd-radius loops later, plus a branch line and some sidings.

Thoughts, anyone? I'm totally new to all this, so it won't surprise me if you say my ideas simply won't work.
RogerB

Re: I'm new to everything! Will this layout work?

Post by RogerB »

No reason for that not to work. What radius are those loops? If 3rd will you have enough of a gap to get your 2nd radius loop inside on the top l/h corner? You might also want to have a think about where you will be placing crossover points. One to go outer to inner and another to go the other way. R-
Young at heart. Slightly older in other parts.
Probablynot

Post by Probablynot »