Hi there everyone!

Just joined, say 'Hello' in here
Del Boy

Hi there everyone!

Post by Del Boy »

I have just joined the Forum and looking forward to being able to contribute something in the future! For now though I suspect I need all of you more than you need me because I am just getting started in this hobby.

I started with just a Hornby 2 Loco DCC Train Set for my two Grandsons. It was fun for a while but now they have discovered Tablets and war games so trains don't cut it with them anymore.

Anyway I could not let the investment in baseboard, extra track etc go to waste so set up a modest layout myself. Read a lot of books about the S&DJR (which was the line running through my home town) and decided to have a go and move up a level or two and design and build a model railway.

I have now built a sectional layout frame and removable Baseboards from Sundeala (yes I know now Mistake no 1 BUT both Hornby and Peco recommended it for starters). I have been practising a mock up PM1 Gaugemaster turnout with Mimic LED's and that works pretty well. I am now at the stage of building the Loco Yard and wiring that up, eight turnouts in my initial estimation so that will keep me out of mischief for a while!

Wondering how its best to wire the boards together now, I have seen what look like old computer D pins as plugs and sockets so need to think that one through.

Anyway, thanks for listening and any comments or advice very welcome!

Cheers

Derek 8-)
Del57

Re: Hi there everyone!

Post by Del57 »

Welcome to the forum Del Boy, you'll find a lot of knowledgeable and helpful people here, so if you ever find yourself looking for solutions to your railway modelling problems, you're in the right place.
Bandit Mick

Post by Bandit Mick »

Welcome to the friendly helpful forum. Be warned, it’s a very addictive hobby.
Brian

Post by Brian »

Welcome Derek