Hi Everyone

Just joined, say 'Hello' in here
DaleKB

Hi Everyone

Post by DaleKB »

Hi,

I am new to the world of model railways, it's something I have had an outside interest in for a long time, but haven't really had the time (due to my main hobby) but have now got a bit more free time, so decided it's now or never.

Having started to have a look what's available, all I can say is wow, so much choice, going to take it one decision at a time, first one is OO or N, probably leaning towards OO but going to go to a local model shop and see what I think about N gauge as don't remember every seeing any in real life.
second decision is to buy a set or start from scratch.

all the best and I am sure I will be busy asking lots of questions.

Cheers,
Dale
Brian

Re: Hi Everyone

Post by Brian »

Hi Dale,

Welcome to the forum. We hope you enjoy your visits and gain much information.

As for scale dont forget there is now RTR (Ready to Run) TT:120 which is roughly half way between OO and N

We look forward to reading more posts from you.
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Bandit Mick

Post by Bandit Mick »

Welcome to the friendly forum and a very addictive hobby.
IanS

Post by IanS »

Welcome to the forum - you'll encounter many questions that you feel are 'stupid' or 'silly' - they aren't the only questions that are stupid or silly are the unasked ones!

Your budget will probably determine the choice between starting from scratch or buying a 'train set'. You will also need to decide on the space you're prepared (or allowed) to utilise. This will determine to some extent the scale. You'll need a platform for the track as well as the track and rolling stock. If you're interested in doing scenery you'll also need some tools for that, eventually.

Good luck with your decisions - not all of them will end up being the 'right' decision for you, but you can learn from your mistakes!
bulleidboy

Post by bulleidboy »