Roco Z21 Black Review

Here you can review a new or older model. Be honest in the review. Please observe the forum rules when posting. Especially item 7.
Mr Bones

Roco Z21 Black Review

Post by Mr Bones »

Roco Z21 Review
I posted this on the old forum, but will add it again here in case anyone is interested. Forgive any mistakes or naivety as I’m fairly new to this whole hobby.

I initially purchased the Roco Multimaus and it’s been a great bit of kit albeit with a few little quirks and some limitations, but as a starter set it was ideal. I always intended to upgrade it and with the new shed came a new controller. The Z21 Black

Choosing & Purchasing
Having looked around at various systems I seemed to always be drawn to the Z21. It seems versatile and adaptable and I liked the fact that the controllers weren’t tethered by cables, although this is now becoming more common with other systems. The amount of features also appealed, far too many for me to list.

Anyway, after hunting for a good deal I ended up purchasing it from Scograil which at the time seemed the cheapest at £279.95 with free postage and I have to say that service was very good. Delivery took only three days and I was constantly kept up to date by text of its progress.

What’s in the box & Setup
The box contains the Z21 base unit a TP-Link 300mbps wireless router, power supply and all required cables. It comes with European plugs, but did include two three pin adapters, one for the Z21 and one for the router.

Setting up was a breeze, create a new layout and give it a name, add your locos and within about 10 minutes it was up and running. I’m not going to talk through setting it up.

The wireless router requires no configuration at all. Once the cables are connected you simply turn it on. Using your phone or tablet you locate and connect to its wifi and enter the password for the router. It’s worth taking a note of the password as it’s on the base and will save hassle when adding other devices.