Absolute novice looking for guidance

Just joined, say 'Hello' in here
mikeyboy

Absolute novice looking for guidance

Post by mikeyboy »

Hi, my name is Mike.
I am 63 years young and am interested in building a model railway. The only problem is - I know absolutely NOTHING about the hobby!
Am I mad or should I stick to Sudoko and Gardening.
I would like to build a 2 tier bespoke layout and have a few ideas of features but that's about it!
I have looked at various websites and found it a bit bewildering as everyone seems to be experts.
I did settle on the idea of a DCC based model (run from my iPad if possible.
But, as I say, to call me an Absolute beginner would be an insult to absolute beginners!
Hope you good people can give me some pointers on how to begin and ultimately build something.
I am getting my small garage converted so, literally, have a blank canvas.
Please go easy on me!
Thanks,
Mike.
Brian

Re: Absolute novice looking for guidance

Post by Brian »

Hi Mike
Welcome to the forum
What gauge/scale are you considering? 00, N or something else?
Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
IanS

Post by IanS »

Welcome to a great forum stacked with knowledgeable people and helpful advice.

Your biggest limitation, I think, will be the budget. You can spend as much as you have or as little as you can. It will be entirely your choice. Yes, controlling via an iPad is possible, as is controlling it with an iPhone and Android tablets and phones. It's also possible to control the layout (strictly the engines and peripherals such as points) via a PC with the right equipment.

Many people decide to model a location, some and era and some an era in a location. Some don't.

Their are two important rules. Rule 1 - it's your layout, do what you want to do and Rule 2 - enjoy yourself!
Hound Dog

Post by Hound Dog »

Hi Mike,