Poor quality control?

Post here items relating to Dapol.
andruec

Poor quality control?

Post by andruec »

I'm a novice and my track has only recently reached the point where I can run locos on DCC. I have three new DCC fitted diesels, bought November, finally got to use them and have found:

* One had a bent chassis pickup.
* Another had oil smeared on one of the pickups.
* The third has some kind of stain (looks like soot?) all over the pickups.

I've fixed the first two but the third is proving difficult.

Question one: Is this typical of Dapol quality?
Question two: How should I clean the dirty pickups. Isopropyl alcohol?

Not terribly impressed. The other Dapol I have is an HST and I know it runs fine on DC but I haven't fitted a decoder yet so don't know if it'll be fine on DCC. They were all bought through Hattons so I'm not sure whether Dapol fitted the decoders or if that was Hattons.
darkscot

Re: Poor quality control?

Post by darkscot »

I know that Dapol did not have a good reputation 4-5 years ago, but I think it is much improved now.
Modelling post war LMS. DCC control via Roco z21 & multiMAUS
andruec

Post by andruec »

Well I can't say whether it was them or maybe Hattons install decoders in-house. The good news is that I've been able to clean all the pickups so now the locos are running fine.

The bad news is that as I've tested my rolling stock I've discovered two sets of wagons with coupler problems. One set has droopy couplings, the other just seems like a bad design that guaranteed to cause problems. So that's a 50% failure rate. Of the two that do work reliably one is a hopper so doesn't have bogies. The other is a silver bullet with bogies but the couplings appear to be far better built. They have a large and obvious spring behind the coupler.