Magnetic couplings

SOOTYBRUM

Magnetic couplings

Post by SOOTYBRUM »

Advice needed please on magnetic couplings. Which are the best ...Hunt Couplings ELITE - N Gauge or the ones produced by GLR. Bespoke Services.
I have a small number of locos, carriages etc. I am new to N gauge modelling and very confused by the couplings I have on my locos etc.
I have attached some photos and perhaps someone could explain to me what they are? I have Googled the subject but still confused .NEM or non-NEM?
I am thinking of putting magnetic couplings on all my rolling-stock. . Is that a good idea or not?

Walkingthedog

Re: Magnetic couplings

Post by Walkingthedog »

They look like standard UK N gauge couplings although the Western in the last picture is missing the coupling at one end.
Nurse, the screens!
jed10

Post by jed10 »

Ok, I too model in N gauge and I've been using Hunt Elite couplings which, on the whole are good. There are a few things to look out for though.

Firstly, watch out for the length of coupling if you have any tight curves. I have some R2 curves and their 'Dapol HST set' wasn't suitable because the carriages coupled too close together and derailed themselves on the bend. That was easily fixed because the NEM pocket couplings come in three lengths so I was able to buy and fit some longer ones which work a treat. With the benefit of hindsight I should have bought their starter pack and tried different sizes before wasting my cash on an unnecessary pack of couplings.

Secondly, the plastic they use is quite brittle. I've managed to break the lugs off a couple fitting them into the NEM sockets so treat them gently. They're quite easy to fit really but I was getting a bit over confident!