Layout

For those modelling in either TT and 3mm scales.
DaleKB

Layout

Post by DaleKB »

Hi all,

I am new to all this and have decided that TT120 is the scale for me, I have just been having a play about in SCARM and just wanted opinions on the first draft of my planned layout.

So my thinking behind this was to have the outside two loops for passenger trains and larger freight trains and the inside loop and sidings for moving wagons about etc.

I will have a station towards the bottom left and a few other buildings about once I have sorted out the layout. Just wondered if this will work, have I got too much track for the space? or anything else you can think of.

thanks in advance
Dale
https://i.postimg.cc/Z5Zd7rsb/Layout-1.png
RogerB

Re: Layout

Post by RogerB »

Will you need to put the passenger/larger freight trains somewhere whilst not running them, or will they be lifted off the layout? R-
Young at heart. Slightly older in other parts.
DaleKB

Post by DaleKB »

They will be lifted off the layout when not being used.
RogerB

Post by RogerB »

Personally, I’d be trying to get the sidings a bit longer as per this image. Not great at drawing with finger tips, but hopefully you get the idea. A short straight where the x is and the point moved right a bit. Any reason they can’t come the other side more towards the building you are showing? R-

Young at heart. Slightly older in other parts.
DaleKB

Post by DaleKB »

Great thanks, I will have a look at those changes later, I will have to upgrade from the free version as run out of track :-)

I left the space by the building maybe for other buildings/car park/road, all possibilities just need to get my head around to what I want, getting the right mix of track and scenery.
Too Tall

Post by Too Tall »

Does the board have access from all sides ?
If it is against one or two walls, that width will make reaching over for scenery and placement, sorting potential derails etc difficult.